Images of America: Sandown
Established in 1756, the town of Sandown, New Hampshire, has a rich history of hardworking men and women who farmed the land and set up shoe shops, lumber mills, blacksmith shops, and taverns. Taking advantage of both natural resources, like the Exeter River and Angle Pond, and man-made ones, such as the railroad, the small, rural town capitalized on its proximity to Boston to expand business opportunities. The Lovering Mill, Angle Pond Hotel, and Elwin C. Mills Shoe Shop are examples of these successful ventures. Today, mills and shoe shops have been replaced by other enterprises, including Zorvino Vineyards and St. Julien Macaroons. As in the past, a sense of community and volunteer commitment is still evident in the hearts of Sandown families. The fire department continues to be an all-volunteer organization, as are many town committees. Proudly listed in the National Register of Historic Places, Sandown's Old Meeting House and Railroad Depot capture residents' dedication to the preservation of town history.
Sandown, New Hampshire History, Images of America
United States History
Lachance, Barbara A. and Bassett, Arlene F., "Sandown" (2013). Books and Monographs. 26.